cosmetic bag attempt

I created this cosmetic pouch using scrap fabric pieces and a 9″ zipper. This is my first time sewing on a zipper! I didn’t use a pattern for this bag; I thought “winging it” would be a good way to learn so I could trouble shoot things on my own.

20130919-131118.jpg
This only cost me $3 to make!

20130919-131135.jpg
I lined the inside with a colorful striped fabric as well.

20130919-131152.jpg
Next time, I will try making the bag more structured and stiff with fusible interfacing or batting, or maybe using oilcloth instead of regular cotton fabric! I think inner or outer pockets would be useful for small items such as lipsticks and lip balms, too!

20130919-131158.jpg
In the end, I’m happy with how this project turned out. Now I have a makeup bag that can fit extra big items like that Lorac Unzipped eyeshadow palette, which my other makeup bag could not accommodate due to its shorter width!

2 thoughts on “cosmetic bag attempt

Leave a Reply

