My fingers hurt, but I still sewed!

If this looks like the face of evil, that’s because it is.Image

This furry-faced feline, who I adopted two-and-a-half weeks ago and just happens to match the sweater I’m wearing, sunk her fangs into my fingers!  The left index finger and the right thumb, to be more precise.  And now they’re all hurt-y.  That’s okay, though.  I still love my cat.Image

(Look!  A muslin-covered pillow form I have yet to sew a cover for.)

See?  This photo was taken after I came home from the urgent care center.  This finger is much more ridiculously swollen in real life.  Still, even with a puffed-up index finger that doesn’t bend much and feels painful when anything so much as tickles it, I managed to sew.

This.

Image

(Oops, I forgot to get rid of the iron and the cat toy from the picture!)

Okay, okay.  To be fair, I got this apron from a thrift shop.  It was made for a 7-foot tall person and went down to my ankles, but when I saw this, I thought, “That’s okay. I have a sewing machine now!”  So I took it home and cut out maybe a foot from the middle, into these two parts you see here:

Image

I used my pinking shears for probably the second time ever.  I LOVE THESE…Image

…SO MUCH.

Look at how I managed to iron this double-fold hem in preparation for stitching.  It’s really hard to iron when two of your fingers are sensitive and virtually useless.  It’s even more annoying when you thumb touches the part of fabric that was just freshly ironed, so it gets even more sensitive and touchy.  But I still did it!

Image

I did have this minor issue, though…

When I was finished stitching, I flipped the fabric over and realized there was a pile of thread in an otherwise nice, straight stitch.  No matter!  I cut it out and stitched out it.  Then, I reattached the straps on the sides at a more flattering location.  Previously, since the apron was made for said 7-foot-tall person, the straps went around the middle of my butt.  That was neither flattering or comfortable.  I sewed on the straps near center of the apron so they would wrap around my lower back. MUCH BETTER.

And, in case you’re curious why the cat bit me – it’s because I picked her up from the kitchen countertop she jumped on, and I was trying to get her away from the heavy duty cleaning products I just sprayed around the kitchen.  She got scared, especially getting too close to the stove exhaust fan which was on “high,” wanted to get out of my grasp, and bit me.  Boo.  Next time I’ll use a spray bottle as some people have suggested to me!

5 thoughts on “My fingers hurt, but I still sewed!

  1. Pingback: Keep Your Mitts off My Pinking Shears! - Far From Normal

Leave a Reply

