Sewing a Christmas Gift: The Naughty & The Nice

I first started my Christmas shopping a week or two ago.  One of the things of my list of Christmas-related things to do was sew a small makeup bag to contain a couple gifts – an eyeshadow palette and a small set of makeup brushes – that I purchased for my boyfriend’s mom.  So, I got started this evening…

Behold.  The straightest seams I have ever sewn to date.

Image

Image

Isn’t it amazing?

Then, also amazingly, I managed to bend a pin.  I guess you could say, it bent to my will…

Image

It still got through in any case!  I mean, with much, much effort on my part.

Image

Then, after that, another little problem came up.  I was trimming the excess from the seams, and I hadn’t realized I was cutting right into a zipper.  The pinking shears quickly become stuck, and I just sat there for a couple minutes, unsure of what to do as I had tried to pry them apart with my hands, and it didn’t work.  After a while, I was like, “NOOOOOO, NOT MY FISKARS!!” and with the jaws of life, I used my hands to force apart those scissors, thus freeing my precious pinking shears.

Image

I just really love my pinking shears, okay?  Look at those perfectly pinked edges. Hah? Get it? Pinked… and the fabric is pink…

Image

The finished product.  Luckily, this time I remembered to unzip the zipper so I could have an opening in which to easily turn my bag inside out.  The first time I sewed a makeup bag, I didn’t do that – I spent quite a few minutes trying to get the zipper to unzip without being able to really put on the zip handle, but I eventually got it.

Image

It fits these small makeup items perfectly!  Because you know, I customized it to fit that way.

Image

Look! No open holes at the end of the zipper piece!  The first time I sewed my makeup bag, I had a small little gap, which wasn’t that bad, but it still bothered me.  This time, I ensured there was no gap.

ImageImageImage

And here’s the naughty part.

I opened the door to my bathroom to find this.  The aftermath.

Image

I had kept my cat in the bathroom with the door closed so that she wouldn’t attack my sewing equipment and cause trouble while I was working on this project.

Image

You can see the tip of her tail on the right.

So, that’s another Christmas gift I can cross off my list!  Off to clean up that mess of what was formerly toilet paper now.

Leave a Reply

