Owl Plushie: NAILED IT.

I created something that reminded me of a meme.

Expectation:

Image

Reality:

Image

Here’s what I’d do differently next time:

  • Use felt for the beak and maybe the eyes, as well as for accent pieces of the owl.
  • Cut out a bigger pattern!  I forgot about seam allowances (I haven’t sewed in a while, okay?!) so it ended up becoming smaller than I intended. Oops.
  • Make sure to sew the individual pieces of a “side” first before trying to sew the front and back pieces together!  That’s why there’s a fuzzy situation going on, on the right of the owl.
  • Add wings! I initially cut out wings, but then I forgot to add them.  Oops No. 2!

I used some scrap fabric I found at the reuse store and tiny bits of my “good” fabric as well as buttons I already had laying around, and I got some practice in, so it was definitely a learning experience!

Here’s my cat pretending to cuddle it for the photo.

uma_owl_circles

She later kicked it away while taking a nap.

Credit:  The green owl is found here by the Manic Muffin Totes Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

